HACKSAW RIDGE



Written last March 20, 2017

Just want to write a short reaction on the film Hacksaw Ridge that I recently watched which is now one of my favorite film. The film tells a true story about beliefs and really holding onto it despite what other people are saying. Desmond Doss was a World War II soldier that had a strong belief of the commandment that “thou shall not kill” it was said that he was the first soldier to became a conscientious objector which means “an individual who has claimed the right to refuse to perform military service”. He refused to hold a rifle which was really quite intriguing if you wanted to be a soldier but holding onto his beliefs Desmond Doss never held a rifle even after being threatened and beaten up about it. He wanted to be a combat medic and wanted to save lives while others are killing each other. I was moved by the high morality of Desmond Doss. He was so brave to save his fellow wounded soldiers by himself and he even saved some Japanese soldiers too. And I really loved how he fought and stood up for what he really believed in. 
 
Got me questioning how strong are my beliefs and how far will I go to stand by it? Right now I think most people are easily persuaded and influenced by certain factors that can make a change in what they believe in, how most people follow trends just to stay “cool” and to not be left out “everybody’s doing it might as well do it too” 
 
Friendly reminder: Just because everybody’s doing it does not mean you have to do it as well. 

 You are you and you don’t have to copy what everybody else is doing. You have your own mind and focus on what you want. Everyone of us is different, different perspective, different personalities and different beliefs so respect everybody’s beliefs even if it contradicts yours and don’t ever think just because what you believe in is different from what others believe in makes your beliefs wrong, I think that’s the time you have to hold on to it a bit tighter. But to answer my question on how far will I go to fight for what I believe? I actually don’t know but I hope I get to stand by it when the time comes.

How far will you go to stand by for your beliefs? 😊

2 thoughts on “HACKSAW RIDGE

  1. Someone said something close to this in church yesterday morning. The service was about missionaries and how that specific church offers support for different groups and stuff. I’m new to the church so it was interesting to see how the church answers the great commission. But a lady said something along these lines. I wish I had written it down! Something like “but for the sake of Jesus?” Like how we can make choices in our lives to benefit us and stuff, but are we willing to make choices for Jesus and keep to them? It’s not exactly the words she said, but it was really empowering to hear!

    Like

Let me know what's on your mind...

