PHILIPPINE ELECTION 2016

It was my first time to exercise my right to vote today. The excitement was there, I feel like I’m officially a part of my country being able to have a say on who’s going to lead our nation. It was great to be heard. The process was quite irritating though, I had to wait in a long line before I could vote but other than that there was no other problem.

Politics in the Philippines is an interesting topic to talk about, it’s like a movie there’s action, drama, comedy even romance lol. It’s sad, dirty and funny and every election, it’s like all the citizens in the Philippines suddenly become a political analysts. Suddenly they became opinionated about politics and became a know-it-all (I’m becoming one now lol). This 2016 election was by far the funniest because mainly social media was involved, lots of memes circulating, lots of opinions being thrown but this election it’s like people are really clamoring for change, citizens of the Philippines finally woke up (did they?). Filipinos are very desperate for change that’s why most of them voted for the president who is an authoritarian, disciplinarian and kind of a dictator. It seemed that everyone wanted to bring back that “Marcos” era where Philippines was very developed they say but also millions of lives were taken. The funny thing is that Filipinos can easily forget because back then Filipinos did a revolution that stopped Marcos’ dictatorship but now they sort of wanted that kind of leadership again?

Miriam-Poe

We could have had the best president who was known as the Iron Lady of Asia, overqualified candidate who studied at the finest schools and universities, served in the three branches of the government and the only thing that stopped you was her health that she doesn’t even worry about.

rodrigo-duterte-pres

So most of the Filipinos chose a MAYOR who only led a city that ranks 9th safest city in the world, yes it was impressive but leading a city is not the same as leading a whole country.

Okay I’m going to stop there before I say something else and this post becomes another rant post lol.

All I wish for the new president and I guess that it’s Mayor Duterte or should I say President Duterte now (even if the vote counts are still partial). I wish that you can prove me wrong for my judgments against you. I want you to do what you said that we should all have a RULE OF LAW so please stop the “jokes” about doing extrajudicial killings just to suppress crimes. Just do your best, have morality, please watch your words and be decent. I also wish that the democracy that Filipinos fought for 30 years ago will remain.

And to the Filipinos the true change starts with you. STOP COMPLAINING AND WHINING. JUST ACT. The problem in our country are discipline and action. Even if your president is very competent but you yourself don’t follow the rules and you don’t act on the wrong doings, it’s all a waste.

1

Good luck Philippines, God bless us all.

Let me know what's on your mind...

